BJP MP Virendra Kumar to be pro-tem speaker of Lok Sabha

Virendra Kumar, the BJP MP from Madhya Pradesh, will be the pro-tem speaker of the Lok Sabha, official sources said on Tuesday.

Mr. Kumar (65) is a seven-term member of the Parliament and won the Lok Sabha polls from Tikamgarh.

As pro-tem speaker, he will preside over the first sitting of the Lok Sabha and administer the oath of office to the newly elected MPs.

The first session of the newly-constituted 17th Lok Sabha will be held from June 17 to July 26.

As pro-tem speaker, Mr. Kumar will also oversee the election of the Lok Sabha speaker.

Mr. Kumar was a Minister of State in the previous Modi government.

Source: Read Full Article