Vishal and team file nominations for Nadigar Sangam elections

Veteran actor Bhagyaraj-led faction to contest against ‘Pandavar Ani’

Announcing that the ‘Pandavar Ani’ would be contesting in the Nadigar Sangam elections, actor Vishal Krishna filed his nomination for the post of general secretary of the South India Artists Association (SIAA) on Saturday.

The actor and producer said the ‘Pandavar Ani’ had worked well during its previous tenure and kept its promises. Senior actor Latha Sabapathy, who will also be contesting as an executive committee member, said the team was firm on not bringing politics into the elections. “Our focus will only be on the welfare of the members and we will work towards that,” she said.


However, the promise made in 2015 by Nasser and his team that they would build a state-of-the-art structure that would provide space for theatre artists to perform, a marriage hall and other facilities for its members, is yet to be fulfilled. “There have been several roadblocks for the completion of the association building but we are determined to see that the work is done in the next four to six months.

“Everyone knows that actor S.Ve.Shekar took us to court trying to stop the construction of the building and this had resulted in work coming to a standstill for nearly four months. Despite these delays, the construction of the building will definitely be completed soon and we are totally against members who keep creating problems,” said Mr. Vishal, after filing his nominations.

Actors Poochi Murugan, Karunas and 19 other members including Kushboo, Manobala, Vignesh, Nandhaa and Kovai Sarala also filed their nominations on Saturday. While Mr. Nasser will be contesting for the post of the president, Mr. Karunas and Mr. Poochi Murugan will be contesting for the posts of the vice-president and actor Karthi, for the post of the treasurer.

The faction that is opposing incumbent president Nasser and general secretary Vishal has also put up a formidable team for the elections, which is scheduled to take place on June 23. Veteran actor and film-maker K. Bhagyaraj will contest for the post of president of the Nadigar Sangam along with producer Ishari K. Ganesh and actor Udhaya.

The opposing faction has alleged that Mr. Vishal has not discharged his responsibilities properly and that the Nadigar Sangam is being used to prop up his own image.

Producer and educationalist Ishari K. Ganesh will contest against Mr. Vishal for the post of general secretary. Actor Kutty Padmini will contest for the post of vice-president.

Mr. Nasser and Mr. Vishal won against former office bearers – Sarathkumar and Radharavi – after alleging that they misappropriated Nadigar Sangam property in Thyagaraya Nagar in 2015.

Source: Read Full Article