MLA offers to resign to make way for Kavitha

Leaves decision to party high command

TRS Jagtial legislator Dr. M. Sanjay Kumar has offered to resign his Assembly seat to facilitate former Nizamabad MP K. Kavitha to contest.

A doctor-turned-politician and staunch supporter of former Nizamabad MP, Mr. Kumar won from the constituency in December 2018 elections by defeating political heavy weight and senior Congress leader T. Jeevan Reddy.

He was participating in the inauguration of newly constructed Collector’s camp office in Jagtial town on Wednesday along with Minister for Social welfare Koppula Eshwar, Korutla legislator K. Vidyasagar Rao and others.

Reacting to newsmen query whether Kavitha would contest from Huzurnagar Assembly segment, which fell vacant following TPCC president N. Uttam Kumar Reddy being elected to the Parliament, Mr. Kumar said: There is no need for Kavitha to contest from Huzurnagar. If required, we will make her contest from Jagtial Assembly segment and I will clear the way by resigning.

However, he said that, the party high command would take a final decision in this regard.

It may be recalled that Sanjay had won from Jagtial in December 2018 elections by securing 61,185 votes against the Congress candidate.

In the Nizamabad parliament constituency elections, BJP candidate D. Arvind polled 66,179 votes against TRS candidate Kavitha, who polled 58,413 votes, while the Congress candidate Madhu Yashki Goud polled 10,595 votes.

Source: Read Full Article